Skip to main contentAmerican Book Review

Daniel T. O'Hara

Contributing Editor

Daniel T. O’Hara, Professor of English and Inaugural Mellon Term Professor of Humanities at Temple University, is the author of Tragic Knowledge: Yeats’s Autobiography and Hermeneutics (Columbia: 1981); The Romance of Interpretation: Visionary Criticism from Pater to De Man (Columbia: 1985); Lionel Trilling: The Work of Liberation (Wisconsin: 1988); Radical Parody: Culture and Critical Agency After Foucault (Columbia: 1992); Empire Burlesque: The Fate of Critical Culture in Global America (Duke: 2003); Visions of Global America and the Future of Critical Reading (Ohio State: 2009); The Art of Reading as a Way of Life: On Nietzsche’s Truth (Northwestern: 2009); and Narrating Demons, Transformative Texts: Rereading Genius in Mid-Century Modern Fictional Memoir (Ohio State: 2012).

He is also the editor or co-editor of five other books, including Why Nietzsche Now (Indiana:1985); and, with Gina MacKenzie, Sigmund Freud, The Interpretation of Dreams (Barnes and Noble Classics: 2005); and, with Geoffrey Hartman, The Geoffrey Hartman Reader (Fordham: 2005), which won the 2006 Truman Capote Prize for the best volume of criticism for the previous year.


Selected Bibliography:

« Back to Editors


Founder: Ronald Sukenick

Publisher: Jeffrey R. Di Leo

Editor: Jeffrey R. Di Leo

Managing Editor: Jeffrey A. Sartain

Assistant Editor: Lauren Pirosko

Publisher Emeritus: Charles B. Harris

Associate Editors: Charles Alexander, Mark Amerika, R.M. Berry, Dagoberto Gilb, C. S. Giscombe, Charles Johnson, Cris Mazza, Larry McCaffery, Christina Milletti, Doug Nufer, Kevin Prufer, John Tytell, Barry Wallenstein, Tom Williams, Eric Miles Williamson

Contributing Editors: Rudolfo Anaya, Ron Arias, John Ashbery, Michael Bérubé, Rosellen Brown, Andrei Codrescu, William Demby, Rikki Ducornet, William Gass, Joseph D. Haske, Russell Hoover, Steve Katz, Clarence Major, Carole Maso, Michael McClure, Joyce Carol Oates, Daniel T. O'Hara, Marjorie Perloff, Robert Peters, Corinne Robins, Charles Russell, Paul Schiavo, Barry Seiler, Charles Simic, Bruce Sterling, Regina Weinreich

ABR: Innovation Never Sleeps

Home | About Us | Current Issue | Back Issues | Reading Series | Donations | Subscribe
Advertise | Contact Us | Related Links